After installation of any sample portal from the Website Gallery, one or more contact records become available including a single administrator contact and other sample contacts. Each contact is assigned a unique username but all contacts share the same default password of pass@word1. This article describes the process of changing the password for any contact record.

These are the contact records that may be created from a Website Gallery installation.

Default Full Name Default Username
System Administrator administrator
Portal Customer customer
Partner Contact partner

The following web roles are provided.

  • Administrators - contacts with read and write access to the entire set of content.
  • Authenticated Users - a special role that is implicitly assigned to contacts that do not explicitly belong to any roles.
  • Event Managers - contacts that can create and update events.
  • Blog Authors - contacts that can create blog posts.

Change Password

Open the contact and, in the command bar, select the Change Password command to launch the dialog. Follow the dialog workflow instructions to set a new password for the contact. Any non-empty string can be specified for the new password and is not subject to the password format validation rules that apply when registering a contact through the front-end portal. Submitting an empty string for the new password disables local authentication for the contact (the contact must sign-in with an external provider instead).

Create a New Contact

Contacts can be created in CRM and assigned passwords for local authentication. This is an easy way to create new portal administrator contacts. First, create a new contact record specifying values for the First Name, Last Name, E-mail, and Username (under the Local Identity section). Save the contact. Next, follow the previous instructions to change the password for the contact. Changing the password will automatically assign a Security Stamp value and check the Login Enabled and Lockout Enabled fields. At this point, the contact is able to perform a local sign-in using the specified username and password. If the contact requires additional portal permissions, assign the contact to the appropriate web roles.

When the Lockout Enabled field is checked, it means that failed sign-in attempts will be counted to determine if a temporary user lockout should be activated. Once lockout is activated, the contact is unable to sign-in until the Lockout End Date has passed. If the Lockout Enabled field is unchecked, failed sign-in attempts are not recorded and the contact is allowed to fail any number of times without activating a lockout.